top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

Eat Cuy and Drink Quinoa (Peru 2021)

For me, trying new foods and drinks is an integral part of the travel experience. When I went to Peru in 2019, none was brave enough to try cuy (guinea pig) so I was determined to land some on my plate this time, even if just to taste.

On our way to the Sacred Valley, we came across a restaurant which showcased roasted cuy in its window: this was the Real Thing. We all walked in ready for the experience (those of us who weren't ordered the chicken that was still pecking grain in the restaurant courtyard). The cuy came stuffed with a delicious herb called huacatay (wacatay) and a side of bell peppers stuffed with potatoes, peas, and carrots. It was flavourful if a little gamy, and while I wouldn't be tempted to eat some everyday, I was glad I tried it. We finished the meal off with an anise liquor which was much more popular than the cuy in our group! I should mention that cuy is not consumed all over Peru: in the area of Puno it is considered a sacred animal, and it is used as a cleansing and diagnostic tool in the traditional practice of shoqma.

On our travels, we came across other delights: a wild potato, no bigger than ginger root and sweet like bean paste, a ewe cheese on Amanatani Island which is reminiscent of halloumi, a chuño potato which was perhaps less delightful than interesting with its thick, dense, floury consistency, and a custard apple (cherimoya) which quickly became a favourite with its sweet, creamy flesh. I discovered that the quinoa plant grows a beautiful red, thick, elongated flower and can be made into a fermented drink. Pro tip: do not let your fermented quinoa juice stay on the counter for prolonged periods; it will continue to ferment and eventually explode all over the kitchen when you try to open it, similar to a Coke-Mentos experiment, much your friends' (and your own) surprise. Just saying.


Reacting to the Unknown

It was interesting to see people's reactions to all the new and unfamiliar situations we came across. At the cuy restaurant, my travel companions played with their food in a way that they probably would never have at home: humour is a great way to diffuse what is scary or confusing. For my part, I noticed that I found similarities between what was familiar and what wasn't; I applied a principle of universality. This can be comforting and even helpful as a bridge across cultures but it can also lead to similarity bias, which in effect glosses over strangeness. It was only when I become comfortable with the unfamiliar that I was able to truly see the difference. It takes time to adapt and a trip can be a fiery initiation.


Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page