top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

Go on a Fancy Picnic

I'll admit to something: I love trying new things; I hate organizing them. This is why I'm always on the lookout for organizers, companies or friends, who will make it easy for me. My best friend is a tremendously generous person who loves fancy things and hates surprises. We travel awfully well together because he looks after all the planning, and I follow in his footsteps; it works out for both of us. This time, I wanted to thank him for all he does by providing him with a wonderful surprise and I was anxious about it. Luckily, I found the solution: Picnic Paradise Ottawa. Sara and Fatma offer pop-up picnic setups. They have several themes to choose from, and look after all the logistics and wares. It doesn't include the food, but there is an appetizer board option with a bottle of non-alcoholic sparkling wine. I also opted for Polaroid photos for a retro look (a professional photoshoot is available but pictures are in digital format only). Our hostesses added party games as well which was a lovely touch.

So now came the scary part: getting food, ensuring the surprise, coordinating with guests, making sure everyone was comfortable: I had invited a friend who was celebrating her 78th birthday on the same day and wanted to make sure everything was perfect. I enlisted my friend's partner and was so happy to have him on board! He made quiches, scones, brought cupcakes, while I looked after champagne, wine, and lawn games. We managed to keep the surprise and once we were all four in the car and my guests started to sense that something was afoot, I was delighted by their excitement. Sara and Fatma had been coordinating with me in background, telling where to park, indicating where they'd setup and sending photos so that we wouldn't miss them. They'd chosen the perfect spot: right next to the parking lot, separated by a hedge and a big oak tree providing much needed shade. It was both practical and bucolic, right next to a little-known Ottawa garden called Fletcher's Wildlife Garden, near the Arboretum. The surprise was a success, my guests were stunned and delighted, and we sat down to enjoy our sumptuous picnic. Afterward, we played pétanque, went on a digestive walk in the Arboretum and in the Garden, and after a full three hours, Sara and Fatma arrived to put everything away.


Keys to a fancy picnic:

  • Hire a professional! Yes, it was a bit expensive, but to my mind, so worth it: I had little to do and everything was there: from lovely tableware, cloth and paper napkins, a small garbage can, and comfortable cushions, to decorations, a welcome sign and a large blanket to spread out. We did miss something: water!

  • Know your guests. I knew we were going to be sitting on the ground, so I brought my old battered lawnchair, which came in very handy for our older guest, so that she could sit comfortably.

  • Bring traditional games. How often do we play bocce, pétanque or cricket? They are such fun, relaxing games. A frisbee works too... but you're probably wearing your finest...

  • Know your city for that perfect spot. With Sara, we discussed various areas around town which could be both comfortable and enjoyable. The Arboretum was not far from my friend's place with accessible parking which cut down on driving and lugging food around. We were settled in a few minutes.

Bon appétit!


Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page