top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

Step through the Brockville Tunnel

Last year I discovered a new company, Guess Where Trips, which opened up a whole different kind of traveling for me. I was given an itinerary, where I opened envelopes one by one, each revealing the next leg of my trip. This has been a great way to discover little-known areas, attractions and shops in my very own backyard (itineraries are built around a 200 km radius of the city of departure, in my case, Ottawa). This was my second trip and it proved to be as much fun as the first. SPOILER ALERT: I will be talking about some of our stops, so you may want to skip until the end where I give some tips!

Our first stop was in Brockville. I had driven through this town before, but realised that I had never really stopped there before. I had seen all sorts of fabulous photos of the Brockville tunnel which had been closed during the pandemic, and couldn't wait to walk through it. I was not disappointed! It's well worth going! With clever lighting effects and signs explaining the history of the tunnel, I was entertained throughout the 525m walk. I also noticed that children (and adults) can take a small train through it, provided by Brockville's Aquatarium.

A few notes:

1. The site is free although visitors are welcome to make a donation.

2. The tunnel is damp and sometimes even wet; if you are going in cooler weather make sure to dress appropriately.

3. One end is near the marina, an easy walk from the main city parking lot; the other end gives on to an abandoned lot. You can go back through the tunnel or, like me, meander your way back to the main street where you'll find cafés, shops and restaurants.

The second and third stops were along the Thousand Islands National Park. I've driven down the parkway countless times, and have occasionally stopped at some of the beautiful picnic areas along the St-Lawrence Seaway, but I had never noticed the stops on the other side of the road. I was completely surprised to find a network of trails with gorgeous lookouts. I stopped at Landon Bay and hopped onto the Lookout trail. My 75-year old mother was with me, and we both made it up: it's a short walk, although it requires sure footing since there are exposed roots and a bit of climbing to the top. We were definitely rewarded by the view (photo at the bottom). There are a few costs to consider: it's 20$ to park at a picnic area, and 7$ to park at a trailhead; season passes are available.

I won't give away all the stops since that would take away some of the mystery. I will say that although we hesitated going to some of the suggested sites, those ended up being some of the most fun and unexpected, including a small lavender field.


What to expect from your itinerary:

  1. A theme which you will have chosen based on your interests, your companions (are you bringing a dog?) and duration (some trips can be prolonged from a day to a weekend).

  2. Preliminary instructions so that you can choose the best day possible and plan a bit ahead (some shops and attractions can be closed during the work week).

  3. Clear indications on how to get to each stop. Do take the time to read the instructions and scope out your route before setting off. Some of the Thousand Island stops were a little tough to find.

  4. Historical context, points of interest and suggested shops, cafés and restaurants to guide you if you are stopping in a town or village.

  5. A day full of fun! I highly recommend that you start early: both of my trips were almost 10 hours long, and often we didn't even do everything that we wanted to do! This is just an excuse to go back.

Finally, these trips make an original gift: an experience in an envelope! This itinerary was for my parents (and, I'll admit, for me too). I've already gotten my next surprise trip organised, my gift to a friend!


Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page