top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

In the Company of Secrets by Judith Miller

I found this book in the lobby of the ByTowne cinema, one of Ottawa's few independent movie theatres. Alas, after 32 years, Ottawa had to say goodbye to one of its favourite venues: the pandemic forced the owner to close its doors. Despite generous contributions and strong community support, the theatre could not be saved. This is not the first time it's happened in the theatre's history and I do hope that its next incarnation will come soon.

When I first moved to Ottawa, I lived right behind the ByTowne. Showings changed daily and it wasn't rare that I would pop in two or three times a week. As the years passed by, I made friends, moved and stepped into new activities, but I always considered the Bytowne a friend of sorts: it was welcoming, comfortably shabby, always interesting, and fostered a community of avid movie goers. It was the kind of place where you could see the latest award-winning movie, cartoon festival or intriguing foreign film; it hosted special cultural events and supported local movie producers. Its patrons were always polite; it wasn't rare that I would meet a friend or acquaintance; I could sit quietly or have a quick chat with my neighbour before the show. I will dearly miss it.

When I saw this book, I was excited: secrets, Pullman trains, heroic women - all the ingredients for a great read. Surely the person who'd left it behind had as fine a taste in books as in movies. Ah well... it didn't turn out that way. The book is melodramatic Christian fiction which, if you like that kind of thing, you will be delighted. It's not my cup of tea. Still, this book will hold special place with its connection to the ByTowne during a time when I could pick up a stranger's book without a second thought.


My book review is on LibraryThing under the handle Cecilturtle.


5 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page