top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

Walk with the Cat

Like many cat-owners, I'm sure, I'd seen the advertisement of those window backpacks for cats. Since I've been hiking more and more, I thought it would be a fun accessory for the shorter hikes. I knew I was taking a risk: my cat is older, he's a rescue and although always a gentleman, he can be fretful. None of that deterred me, and I decided to inaugurate the backpack by going around the block to a nearby maple grove.

Admittedly, the cat did not love being in the pack at first, but we were crossing noisy traffic and soon I found a quiet spot. The birds definitely caught his attention and I found a comfortable bench where I could let him enjoy the new scenery. The backpack comes with a harness and a snap to attach a leash. Harnesses can be cumbersome to put on a recalcitrant car, I wasn't going far, and so I clasped his leash directly onto his collar on one end and to the backpack on the other (cue suspenseful music). On the bench, since everything was going so well, I opened the top so that he could gaze around. And so he did. At first (cue ominous music).

Notice in the picture below two important elements: the rough-hewn bench, perfect for planting claws in, and the dense thicket. The cat, finally sensing an opportunity to explore his new environment, popped his head out of the bag. I did not worry, fully confident that the leash would hold. And so it did. The collar, however, did not. The cat grabbed onto the bench, leapt to freedom, and buried himself in the thicket, while I, in my calmest voice, called him back like this was a perfectly fun and enjoyable moment. It was not. I went up and down the thicket, crashing through where I could, panicking when I lost sight of him, increasingly anxious. Luckily, either tired or terrorised, he crouched in a relatively accessible spot and I was able to retrieve him, climbing over branches and brambles, relieved that I finally had a hold of him. To the point about the cat being a real gentleman: not once did he try to scratch, bite or kick me; he's that awesome.


So what did I learn?

  • The backpack is much more comfortable than I expected. With adjustable straps in the front and back, I can easily carry my little buddy without any effort. It is also roomy enough for him to enjoy the ride.

  • However inconvenient, I will now put the harness on the cat. With the leash, it gives him enough leeway to hang out, and it gives me the peace of mind that he won't escape (again).

  • Next time, I will choose a park with no thickets in sight.

  • I will probably wait a few weeks before starting this experiment again... if ever. The backpack will be great for trips to the vet.

Status Update: the cat is sound asleep on my bed after today's adventures.


Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page