top of page
17907841216587360.jpg
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Photo du rédacteurCécile Charlton

Photograph birds in Two Creeks

It wasn't my first time taking pictures of birds, but it was my first time in Two Creeks Conservation Area near Morrisburg, Ontario, and my first time taking a half-decent photograph of a bird

(remember the owl?). This little one was caught mid-air; I got another one of him in his little house. There's nothing more delicate and joyful than to hear their wings flapping quickly and they fly by. They are definitely not shy and a couple of times, I thought they were going to land on me looking for more food.

Two Creeks is delightful little spot. It doesn't have the sweeping beauty of some of the other areas like nearby Cooper Marsh nor fancy boardwalks which I really enjoy, but its 5 km loop is easy to walk and travels through the woods. While some of the trees have a stunning majestic beauty, like the bicentennial oak which houses the chickadee's wood cabin, many have been replanted after the 1998 Ice Storm. At one spot, because the trees are neatly aligned and at the same stage of growth, it feels like a cathedral of trees, a carefully constructed architecture - it's really quite inspiring. The trail has various signs along the way with a QR code to download the information. At -20°, however, I had a hard time keeping my hand still long enough to generate more information... this is just an excuse to go back. As a friend suggested, in the summer, you can go for a leisurely stroll and then head off to one of the beaches along the St-Lawrence Seaway. This sounds like a fantastic outing!



Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page